Be Water my Friends (Quoting Bruce Lee)

Of the 3 mediums land, air, and water, I think my preference is being in a body of water. Here are two reasons:

Sailing – I’m currently taking sailing lessons at the MIT Boathouse and it’s awesome!! Oh wait, did I mention that it’s awesome? I went to the second (out of a total of 3) lesson yesterday and I actually got to sail on the Charles River. A lady and I took one of the sailboats out on the river and was practicing in the river by doing figure-8’s. Mind you that we always tip the boat over at the beginning, but we were rockin’ by the end of the lesson. There’s just something about being on the water in a small sailboat, and letting nature’s breaths propel you.

Swimming – So one of the advantages of working on an air force base (Lincoln Laboratory is located on Hanscom Airforce Base) is that there is an awesome swimming pool. My coworker and I goes there every Tueday and Thursday afterwork to get a swimming workout. Now, I like a lot of sports such as basketball, volleyball, softball, rock climbing, and running. But nothing beats the lifelong benefits that’s associated with swimming. It’s cardio, it’s strength training, it’s low impact, and it’s something you can do all your life without destroying your joints.

We’re getting to a point where we’re thinking of joining the New England Masters Swimming league to improve ourselves and maybe train to reach competitive levels. Sweet.

1 Response to “Be Water my Friends (Quoting Bruce Lee)”


  1. 1 rustychefwei August 25, 2006 at 11:32 am

    i wish i had a swimming buddy! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

