Today’s Mistake

I hosted a brown bag presentation today to showcase and get feedback of a web interface that I’ve been developing at work. The application is built using the django framework, which is an amazing web-development tool.

The mistake I made was that I went into too much details too soon. Instead of providing a story to the audience (of about 15) on the purpose of the web site I’m building, I went straight into the nitty gritty details. I’m sure I confused 40% of the audience in the first 4 minutes. Which made me realize…

Whenever you’re doing some public speaking, start out with the big picture. Tell the story. Relate what you have accomplished to the audience, and they’ll appreciate what you have to say.

0 Responses to “Today’s Mistake”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

