Recent Books

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People (Audio)
by Stephen R. Covey
5/5
After having listened to this book, I can definitely understand why it’s one of those all-time bestseller books.  I usually find self-help books to be idiotic and pathetic, exploiting and preying on inconfident individuals.  Most of those books offer a fixed list of to-dos that promises to improve you life and your perspective.

This book is slightly different in the sense that it encourages you to be principle driven, rather than action driven.  Instead of following a specific list, Stephen R. Convey provides a few key priciples that are meant to trigger personal perspective shifts.  He delivers it, in my opinion, in a way that isn’t coercive in nature, but rather in a suggestive sort of way.  It’s up to the reader to accept the ideas and principles behind the words.

You Just Don’t Understand:
Women and Men in Conversatoin

by Deborah Tannen
3.5/5

The first half of this book goes into detail on the main differences in how men and women converse.  I definitely picked up a few insightful things.

The second half of the book is pretty much a waste of time.  Scenario after scenario, Deborah analyzes the differences in conversation styles/subjects/methodology between boys and girls in elementary school.  I’m 25 years old, I’d rather hear more about an older age level.

He’s Just Not That into You (Audio)
by Greg Behrendt, Liz Tuccillo
0/5
A female friend of mine asked me to read this book.  She wanted a guy’s perspective on whether or not the content of the book is true.  So I tried listening to the audiobook.  There were a total of 3 CDs, and I quite after the first.  This book is all crap, full of scenarios that doesn’t really make sense.  The authors made it sound like relationships are all about phone calls and sex, and that’s it.  Nothing else.  No intimacy, time to build up a relationship, trust, etc…

They do have one good point though.  If he’s interested in you, he’ll go out of his way to try to spend time with you.  But then again, isn’t that evident?

1 Response to “Recent Books”


  1. 1 Check this April 30, 2013 at 12:26 am

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both
    educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that too few people are speaking
    intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled
    across this during my search for something regarding this.


Leave a Reply

