The Fabrics of Life

What holds relationships together?

The threads between family members, the ones between good friends, and even the invisible string that binds strangers during difficult circumstances. Tonight, I got some bad news about my family. The news created such a powerful sense of weariness in my mind that I completely broke down and weeped; lasting a few intensely painful moments.

In the end, I had to call my best friend in DC because I didn’t know what else to do. I just needed someone to talk to, to understand, and to listen. And you know what, after being able to express my internal pain to him, things became okay. The weariness subsided and even though logically nothing has changed, I felt different. I felt relieved.

I thought about what happened and came to the following conclusion. An internal sense of being understood, the ability to trust one another with your problems and struggles, and the ability to emphasize; these are the things that binds people together. The fabrics of life. It’s something that science cannot explain. And to me, this is another reason why I believe in Christianity.

This post is dedicated to my best friend Tim, my partner in crime during the college years. Thanks for being there dude.

9 Responses to “The Fabrics of Life”


  1. 1 seneca March 9, 2007 at 1:19 am

    I’m not sure that what “science cannot explain” logically follows through to “I believe in Christianity”, especially since 80% of the world does not believe in Christ.

    Perhaps it is a failure of science, perhaps the right science has not yet been discovered, or perhaps you are ignorant of the right science.

    Cultural evolution has much of what you’re missing.

  2. 2 Anonymous March 9, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Seneca, you realize that you are in fact putting faith in something right now? Science. You agree that science has not ‘explained’ what Mo describes, but yet you have faith that science can. It seems that you are a man of faith. Mo and I just share a common faith, that things happen for a reason, and the complexity of this world and humans are too great to happen by chance. Not everything can be explained away, so pretend that they can implies arrogance.

  3. 3 seneca March 9, 2007 at 11:37 am

    That’s simply not true, Anonymous.

    Science is reproducible. The same results can be confirmed by any culture in any part of the word.

    Religion is a belief system and cannot be reproduced by others, only by believers.

  4. 4 supsupmo March 9, 2007 at 11:45 am

    I agree that my argument was rather weak, and I didn’t go into much detail on what I meant. But it was just something I thought of out of the blue and didn’t have time to write a longer explanation about the last two sentences of the post.

  5. 5 seneca March 9, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    Sorry Supsupmo,

    I didn’t mean to jump on you.

    Religion exists for two reasons. It explains what it’s all about, the purpose of life, and it overcomes fear of death.

    For me, I’d rather just say that we don’t know the purpose of life. Why the need to interject God? I ask you what is the origin of God if you ask me what is the origin of the universe.

    Most of all, you want the Universe to conform to what Man can understand. I tell you that it is beyond us. Man is not wired smart enough to understand it all. God is a feeble attempt to give an explanation.

    Furthermore, “cause” is the way Man understands things. The Universe need NOT correspond to what we can understand. There may be no “cause”. It’s all beyond us.

    Regarding Death, you’re gonna die, my friend. This is all there is.

    And it’s not so bad.

  6. 6 Anonymous March 9, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Spoken like a true agnostic šŸ™‚

  7. 7 supsupmo March 9, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    Seneca,

    I see your points and thanks for your comments. One great thing about the universe is that we can choose what we believe in. Personally, I find my belief in Christianity to be a source of inspiration and understanding, and these beliefs help me make sense of my surroundings, life trails, the good, and the tribulations.

    If asked to defend it, I don’t think I can because I wouldn’t be able to. I don’t have a complete understand of what it’s all about; the complexity and its vastness is mild boggling. I accept it as a leap of faith, pun intended.

    In regards to your views, the same can be said. You don’t understand it all and you’re definitely free to choose whatever you deem reasonable.

  8. 8 seneca March 9, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    We are definitely different.

    I choose to simply state that I don’t have the answers.

    You state you do have the answer, and your answer is “God”.

    Don’t you think you need to defend your answer?

    80% of the world does not believe in Christianity. What you believe is pretty much based on where you are born. Doesn’t cut it for me!

    I wonder how effective Christianity is.

    Islam, with a 500 year late start, has more believers than Christianity (1,200,000,000 vs 1,000,000,000). Is Mohammed a more effective figure than Christ?

    Germany, a little more than half Protestant and a little less than half Catholic, was the most effective killing machine in history. What good is Christianity if its people people build factories of murder?

    Certainly one can name “good” Christians, but I don’t see it as effective in making people ethical or in propagating itself.

  9. 9 Anonymous April 6, 2007 at 10:16 am

    I believe in both faith and reason. The more we learn about God, the more we understand how magnificent this universe is. There is no contradiction to it. When I look at history, I would disagree with seneca: Christianity has done far more good than bad. All of the great movements forward in Western civilization were by believers. It was pastors who led the abolition of slavery. It was pastors who led the woman’s right to vote. Altruism comes out of knowing there is more than this life, that there is a sovereign God, that I am not God. We’re both betting. He’s betting his life that he’s right. I’m betting my life that Jesus was not a liar. When we die, if he’s right, I’ve lost nothing. If I’m right, he’s lost everything. I’m not willing to make that gamble.


Leave a Reply

