Give me back my Crayons

Doing some light reading at work on a Friday morning and I found a great quote today from the How to be Creative manifesto (Hugh MacLeod) on ChangeThis.com:

Everyone is born creative; everyone is given a box of crayons in kindergarten. Then when you hit puberty they take the crayons away and replace them with books on algebra etc. Being suddenly hit years later with the creative bug is just a wee voice telling you, “I’d like my crayons back, please.”

So there, go on a be creative. And go reclaim your box of crayons.

2 Responses to “Give me back my Crayons”


  1. 1 richard March 30, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    If you haven’t seen it yet, take a look at the video of Ken Robinson talking about creativity and education at TED:

    “Sir Ken Robinson is author of Out of Our Minds: Learning to be Creative, and a leading expert on innovation and human resources. In this talk, he makes an entertaining (and profoundly moving) case for creating an education system that nurtures creativity, rather than undermining it. (Recorded February, 2006 in Monterey, CA.)”

    http://www.ted.com/tedtalks/tedtalksplayer.cfm?key=ken_robinson

  2. 2 jes park March 31, 2007 at 12:41 am

    no one ever took away my crayons… i still keep a box of 96 with me at all times


Leave a Reply

