3 Years Ending – Virtues for Me

During the last week or so at Lincoln, I had an opportunity to chat with a number of significant individuals who have helped me grow and have had positive influences on me. I had a chance to be candid with them, as well as ask them to give me feedback, advice, or personal virtues that can help me grow and become better at what I do. So here they are:

  • Advice from my manager – sometimes I get to caught up with a task that’s most interesting to me and I lose sight of the other things that’s on my table. So I should learn to prioritize better.
  • Feedback from coworker #1 – I handled stress very professionally and my laughter, as I tend to find humor in everything, often diffuses stressful situations.
  • Feedback from coworker #2 – Coworker #2 wishes that I had a chance to take on more leadership/management roles during my time at Lincoln. Sometimes you have to go and reach for the opportunities to move up. Don’t expect them to be dropped into your lap.
  • Virtues from “higher-up” #1 – There are two things to keep in mind in life:
    1. Never burn any bridges, since you’ll never know when paths might cross in the future.
    2. Build up a network of friends/individuals that you can absolutely trust. Learn to read and analyze people to determine if they’re trustworthy.
  • Virtues from “higher-ups” #2 – Why rush? Take your time with whatever it is that you do. Enjoy the view and experience along the way. Also, do things with a passion and you will be great at it. This is fantastic since the first moism that I’ve ever thought of was “Find your passion and don’t let it escape.”
  • Virtues from a senior research staff – Always have integrity and honor. Those things will mean different to each person since people come up with their own definitions. Think about what it means to you and hold yourself to the highest standards.

Simply priceless. So my advice to you is that whenever you’re switching jobs or simply leaving a place, speak to the people that mattered the most to you and ask for feedback and constructive criticisms. Open your mind, don’t get defensive, and hear what others have to say. You’ll be amazed at what you find and in the end you’ll become a better you.

0 Responses to “3 Years Ending – Virtues for Me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

