Font Size on Business Cards

I’m in the process of designing a set of business cards for a client, I came across the difficult decision of what is the appropriate font size. I know I know. Different fonts at size 12 vary widely in overall real estate, but I’m speaking in general. Imagine the standard Arial font.

My designer friend (who’s opinions I trust cause he’s actually a designer, and I’m just a hobbyist) and I got into an interesting discussion when I showed him the draft. He says the text should always be legible, use size 10. But to me, legibility is a relative measurement. So then I thought about how Business Cards are intimidate objects. When you handle a business card, there’s a tendency to hold it closer than normal documents. While normal documents with 10 Arial font is fairly legible from the desk, business cards might benefit with a smaller font size. The person’s name should be in a bigger font, but the essential business info should be presented in size 8 or 9 font. Smaller means the audience has to hold it closer to the eye, thus examining it more closely.

So if you were giving out your business cards, wouldn’t you want the other person to hold it closer than some regular boring document?

So they can read it in a more intimate fashion?
14 Responses to “Font Size on Business Cards”


  1. 1 esther November 5, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    when I shuffle through a stack of business cards to find somebody, i hold it at a distance until I find something I want — usually their contact info. so the name and branding definitely needs to very legible and clear. and i want get the contact info fast and accurate — to avoid mistakes on trascribing their email or dialing it on the phone. so smaller font may not be ideal here.

  2. 2 http://storify.com September 19, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The
    clearness in your put up is just cool and that i cann assume
    you are an expert on this subject. Well together with your permission let me to seize
    your RSS feed to stay up to date with impending post. Thank you 1,000,000 andd pleaase kep up the
    gratifying work.

  3. 3 premium December 1, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    This site certainly has all of the information I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  4. 4 technology July 19, 2016 at 10:23 pm

    After exploring a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I
    seriously appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking
    back in the near future. Take a look at my website as well
    and tell me how you feel.


  1. 1 comment gagner au machine a sous des fete foraine Trackback on November 11, 2014 at 10:25 am
  2. 2 machine a sous de fete foraine Trackback on November 11, 2014 at 9:15 pm
  3. 3 followers tips Trackback on December 29, 2016 at 7:24 am
  4. 4 instagram users Trackback on December 31, 2016 at 7:50 am
  5. 5 instagram followers photographs Trackback on January 1, 2017 at 5:46 pm
  6. 6 followers quicker Trackback on January 1, 2017 at 6:08 pm
  7. 7 developing linkedin Trackback on January 3, 2017 at 3:03 pm
  8. 8 seo company Trackback on January 3, 2017 at 5:11 pm
  9. 9 link building Trackback on January 5, 2017 at 7:45 am
  10. 10 purchase social Trackback on January 5, 2017 at 10:38 am

Leave a Reply

